Tuesday, May 16, 2006

DaVinci Code

Hi Everyone, I’m back for more.

Today’s Topic: The DaVinci Code. I’m probably going to get myself into trouble with this, but here goes.

I’ll start by saying up front that I plan to see the DaVinci Code at some time. I don’t know if I’ll se it in theater or wait till it come out on video, but I do plan to watch it. I want to clear up for myself all of the things I’m hearing about it. I’m wondering if perhaps people are going a little overboard in their condemnations of the movie and the book.

That being said, however, I don’t think that the cultural influence of the book is being overstated. Even if the book is not all its cracked up to be it has opened a Pandora’s Box and has contributed to the popularizing of many historical errors; errors that have cast a shadow on Christianity and, undoubtedly, many doubts about the church among Christians and non-Christians alike.

With that in mind I ask everyone who reads this blog to avoid seeing the DaVinci Code opening weekend. We need to make sure that we do what we can to make sure, despite our personal views on the book in itself, that this movie does not become a cultural phenomenon like the book on which it was based. In order for this to work, however, it is not enough that we just don’t see the movie; if we just stayed at home we would have no impact on the box office. We also need to vote with our money and go see another movie this weekend. The best choice seems to be Dreamworks’ Over the Hedge, which seems like a clean and funny movie. And, if we all get behind one movie we have a much better chance of keeping The DaVinci Code out of the number 1 spot. I hope you will all join me.

Well, that’s all for me. I welcome any comments and hope that someone will read this post.

'Till next time'John W

2 comments:

Tom said...

John, you liberal!!

Joking, actually, I heard that my brother and brother in law read the book and they don't think it is a big deal, as long as you have some sense.

Dude, I might read the book sometime, but I want to see Over the Hedge this weekend. It should be done Friday night. We have to talk about this John. We need everyone to come along. Even your girlfriend you have been talking about.

Jenn said...

well... i saw it. it was pretty lame and as we already know it wasnt a phenom like the book (basically because lame books make even lamer movies). i'd like to start by saying that its fiction and therefore it shoudlnt even be a topic for debate... but... since some people have been confused by what it says i understand the problem. but after watching the movie i dont think it was too bad. i thought that the main believer in all of that junk came off as a nut and it at least got people thinking about jesus more. yeah, i know, i'm an optomist... and probably a liberal by the group's standards.